This thesis examines the architecture of Dublin’s 19th century neo-classical Catholic churches. The period under examination starts in 1803 with the campaign to build a new church in the Archbishop’s parish for the Catholic inhabitants of the city. This church, which later became known as the Pro-Cathedral, was opened for worship in 1825, and completed 1841 with the building of its Greek Doric temple front. During this period work
started on several more neo-classical churches.The first, after the Pro-Cathedral, was the Church of the Carmelite friary, Whitefriar
Street, started in 1825. The series continued with Saint Nicholas of Myra, Francis Street (1829); Saint Francis Xavier, Gardiner Street (1829); Saint Andrew’s, Westland Row (1832); Adam and
Eve’s, Merchants’ Quay (1834); Saint Paul’s, Arran Quay (1835); Saint Audoen’s, High Street (1841); and Our Lady of Refuge,
Rathmines (1850). The Three Patrons of Ireland, Rathgar, which was completed in 1862, looks back for some of its...