Institutions | About Us | Help | Gaeilge
rian logo

University of Limerick


The University of Limerick (UL) was established in 1972 as the National Institute for Higher Education, Limerick and classified as the University of Limerick in 1989.


The University of Limerick is an independent, internationally focussed university with over 11,000 students and 1,300 staff. It is a young, energetic and enterprising university with a proud record of innovation in education and excellence in research and scholarship. Its mission is to promote and advance learning and knowledge through teaching, research and scholarship in an environment which encourages innovation and upholds the principles of free enquiry and expression. Particular attention is paid to the generation of knowledge which is relevant to the needs of Ireland's continuing socio-economic development.


Research at the University of Limerick spans a broad range of areas across the four Faculties. There are a number of research institutes and centres, where UL is actively seeking to cluster researchers with a view to achieving synergy.


The University of Limerick has established its research distinctiveness through promotion of a research ethos characterised by the convergence of discrete disciplines working together to achieve fundamental breakthroughs while operating in a translational approach – an innovative alternative mode of research to the traditional basic-applied research distinction – which translates research results more rapidly towards commercialisation.


Access the UL Institutional Repository at